The Color of Music

Image result for the color of music

Turn on your favorite song. Close your eyes. What do you see? Or rather, what do you feel. Do you see a deep violet, maybe a sky blue or a dark green? Bold red?

When I listen to music. I feel colors. Not vividly, not something I can point to in the distance and say, “There. 4 feet away I see orange.” It doesn’t work like that. Rather, I feel the colors welling up inside of me, like a giddy laugh. They burst across my mind rather than my vision, and I don’t really see them until I ask myself, “What color is this music?”

  • Dark Blue when I listen to the March Slav.
  • A light violet color when I listen to the 1989 album (of course, only when my sister insists ;-)).
  • Reds and Yellows, mixed with images of Cleopatra when I listen to Bacchanale, Samson and Delilah Ballet.

You may think I have a terrible taste in music, but maybe I listen to music for different reasons than you do. If I don’t like the colors I see when I listen to a particular song, I don’t like the song. Rap music and I don’t get along. I see harsh yellows and blacks. “You see more than one kind of black? But black is black.” No, I feel different kinds of black. When one is dressed in an elegant black dress, it doesn’t feel the same as someone wearing black for a funeral, or to rob a bank. Likewise, I feel black differently. Sometimes elegant like the way Audrey Hepburn wears it, other times an angry, contagious black.

Maybe this is why I enjoy the violin so much, besides the buzzing feeling in my fingers and the emotions that well up when playing the right piece, maybe I enjoy the colors I create, knowing I might never do it with a paintbrush.

What do you see when you listen to music? Let me know in the comments!

And… MERRY CHRISTMAS EVE!! ❤

Leave a comment