Reply Post: Feminism

I am a female and I’m not a feminist. Let me explain why.

I cannot list one right I feel I should and don’t have as oppose to a man. I live in a country where men and women are considered equal and most places. Yes, there is a wage gap, but it’s not hard and fast. Most don’t intend for there to be one. It’s just a number, and it doesn’t go into the specifics of salaries. I can’t complain. I live in a safe environment, and although there are the weirdos and the freaks and the ones who don’t believe in equal rights, they can’t change me or my rights.

That being said, I completely support feminism if one feels as though it’s needed. I read something that said that feminism will exist until it is safe for a girl to run at dawn. I get that. There’s also countries where women are not equal to men at all, and I am for feminism there as well.

But I also feel as though it’s very, very important to set your energy to a goal. Would you rather protest for feminism for a country that has most rights equal or a country that has virtually no equal rights? Priorities have to be set.

The reason I don’t consider myself a feminist is because although I believe in equal rights for all women, I am not actively fighting for those who don’t have it. It’s not fair  (personally) to call myself a feminist because I am not making a difference in the lives of oppressed women.

I hope I have the chance to do so when I grow and help those who aren’t as fortunate as I am.

Leave a Reply

