How to Get Through a Run on a Treadmill

Ugh. The treadmill. Basically running with the fun sucked out. I’ve tried multiple ways to make running on the treadmill work. I’ve tried covering up the stats. Listening to music. Watching TV. After a year and a half, I’ve come up with a few tips. Happy running :).

  1. Don’t cover up the screen. Yes, logically, it makes sense why it would be easier to cover up the screen. You can’t see how far you’re going, and you only focus on running. But…you only focus on running. And running isn’t always enjoyable. Keep the screen, look at your stats. How you do that, I’ll talk about soon.
  2. Do constant math in your head. Maybe this is just me, but numbers are pretty soothing. .5 miles in? 1/8 of the way there. Only have to do 7 more of those. Never let the distance left seem daunting. Take it one step at a time.
  3. Positive, positive, positive. Every time I got on the treadmill, I would get off when I thought I couldn’t finish my run. But you only realize how much you can do when you don’t stop. Even when my quads were killing me, I made sure to finish.
  4. Aim for the last multiple of 10 minutes. If you’re running 4 miles in 36 minutes, focus on getting to 30 minutes. You’ll be surprised how strong your willpower is those last 6 minutes.
Leave a Reply

