The Healthiest Homemade Frap A Click (and Blender) Away

If you clicked on this because of the title, you won’t be upset.

Let’s talk about the Starbucks Green tea Frappuccino. My starbucks timeline ranges from non-coffee-frap beverages to looking down on non-coffee-frap beverages, but I’ve always loved the Green Tea Frap. Sounds somewhat healthy, right? Definitely tastes delicious. The downside: It ranges from 240-440 calories, not including the max- 40 calories you might save with nonfat milk.

So what? Do you limit yourself? Only get the tal size? Look no further.

DISCLAIMER: You’re going to think I’m a loon when you read how healthy these are. How can they possibly taste good? You have to try. I’m beyond serious. Even though activity is dormant, I still run smoothiecentral.wordpress.com. I’m the smoothie queen. You have to try to believe!!!!

I’ve experimented and perfected the healthiest green tea frap ever. {Hint, it’s actually a smoothie}And then found an even healthier one {still a smoothie}. So look no further, here are the super-easy-to-follow-couldn’t-be-simpler recipes:

The First (less healthy of the two)

Get a Blender. Blend the following (in order):

  • 1 Banana (yellow sprinkled with brown)
  • 10-ish Spinach Leaves (won’t taste them, I swear)
  • Any kind of milk you want, but vanilla almond milk sweetened adds to the frap feel (Fill to the brim of what you have in the blender)
  • 2 Teaspoons of Matcha Green Tea Powder
  • A Drizzle of Honey (optional)
  • Flax and Chia seeds (tablespoon of each)
  • 8-ish Ice cubes (start with a few and add more if needed)

Don’t fret if you don’t have Green Tea Powder. I hate it when I look up a smoothie recipe only to find out I don’t have half the ingredients. Why would you have Green Tea Powder lying around anyway?

So this is the recipe where you may think I’m deranged. Hang with me here.

The Way Healthier Recipe

Get a blender. Blend the following in order:

  • 1-1.5 Banana (Yellow sprinkled with brown)
  • (Okay, prepare yourself) 2 Large (I mean large. Grasp all you can) Handfuls of Spinach (You won’t taste it! I swear!)
  • Almond Milk Vanilla Sweetened (any kind works but this is the best for this purpose)
  • Drizzle of Honey (optional)
  • Flax and Chia seeds (tablespoon of each)
  • 8-ish ice cubes, more if needed
  • You can add some apple and kale too

I can’t stress this enough: This is just as good as a frap. Truly, if you want the frap feel, it all depends on how much ice you add, but these recipes really should cover your sweet tooth. In all honesty, if it’s not good, you’re probably not making it right. Please comment if that happens so we can fix the sitch.

 

 

Leave a Reply

