If I Stay (book) Review

It wasn’t one of my favorites, but I still really liked it. I think the author did a really good job seeing things from Mia’s perspective and making the situation realistic. I also liked the author’s interpretation of Mia’s emotions; the fact that she understood what she had lost in the coma but didn’t feel the gravity of what she had lost until she was back.

And, call me crazy, but I liked the way the book ended, leaving us in suspense of what her future will be like (even if there is now a sequel that says exactly what happens after the accident in the first two paragraphs).

And I really, really liked Adam. It was a realistic relationship, but at the same time, we all know it’s near impossible to find a guy like Adam in high school. And I liked how it wasn’t all lovey-dovey, but they were there for each other when it mattered and were more like companions than anything else.

A negative thing: I didn’t love the style it was written in. Maybe this is just me being picky. The tone was really relaxed; like the way Anna and The French Kiss was written. There were also a lot of cliches used that got to me eventually. Although, I really did feel the emotion and strength behind the last scene (no spoilers, promise).

Alright, that’s pretty much it. Did I tell you guys about how I was reading Before I Fall and when I was half-way through I wondered if there was a movie about it made or coming out and there was a movie coming out a week from then? Wild.

 

Leave a Reply

