Love Story or Joking about Stockholm’s?

Beauty in the Beast. What seems like a simple “tale as old as time” is more than.

Yes, the movie was good. (Although I was watching it with my friends, and we were laughing the whole time. Yes, we were those annoying girls that are laughing the whole time. No shame.)

But the stories I’ve heard of how the fairy tale was derived was not good. Sickening in fact.

I dove into it a little more, and I don’t think it’s true.

For those of who you don’t know what Stockholm’s is, it’s a defensive mechanism the brain goes through when a person is captured. The person experiencing the syndrome goes begins to submit and defend their captator. Certain conspiracies state that Belle adapted with Stockholm’s syndrome to cope with the beast, and that’s why she thought Gaston was bad.

Now, I know what you’re thinking. What a sickening thing to kid’s love story on! Besides the fact that many fairy tales have surprisingly dark twists, this particular fairy tale wasn’t based on Stockholm’s. The reason why?

Belle wasn’t submissive. She refused to eat dinner with the beast, and only when she recognized his true nature did she grow to love him.

Now, I guess you could make the argument that the fairy tale was written from her perspective and her perspective alone. I mean, I’m not an expert, but I think if the victim was aware of the changes they were going through mentally they would find a way to stop it, or at least remind themselves who the bad guy was.

I don’t know which one it is. We would have to ask the original author to find out (she’s dead, btw).

To end on a good note, I think it’s fantastic that Belle is the favorite princess of many girls. I love that so many girls admire a princess who’s brave, smart, and independent. If society is going to tell girls to like princesses anyway (which is changing rapidly by the way), I think it’s perfect that little girls are choosing on their own to like the best of the bunch. You know what I mean?

Up next: Alice and Wonderland based on an overdose?

Image result for beauty and the beast memes

Image result for beauty and the beast memes

 

2 thoughts on “Love Story or Joking about Stockholm’s?

  1. The Past Due Book Review says:

    I think, like a lot of literature and film stories, the reader or viewer is able to make their own conclusions and analysis of the stories. That being said, I agree that there doesn’t seem to be sufficient enough evidence in the way of Stockholm Syndrome in this case. Great post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

