How the Lullaby Makes Me Feel

Lullaby for Amie and Tifani

Omigosh. I love this song soooo much. It’s absolutely gorgeous. I think it’s super romantic; that it tells a story of proclaiming love. But considering the composer wrote it for his children, that might not have been the purpose. It’s one of those songs you only play for your high school orchestra, but it’s undeniably heart-wrenching.

I don’t even feel like I’m playing when I do play it. Rather, I feel like I’m swaying. Flaying. Crying. Dancing. Something crazy comes over me. My fingers are singing. I’m singing. I’m telling someone (no one in particular, but that’s what I feel like I’m doing) how much I love them, how I would do anything for them.

When I play this song, I see green and blue and pink and purple, and I see a big, bright full moon, and I see a lake. On the lake, there are lily pads, and the moon is being reflected on the lake, and I’m wearing a white dress. I’m sitting on a bench. Or dancing, or singing, or swaying, or confessing my love (again, no one in particular). I kid you not, this is what I see. Vividly. It’s unlike anything I’ve ever felt before playing music.

Listen to it. You won’t regret it.

Leave a Reply

