before i fall: the quote that got me

Update: Following up Delirium with another Lauren Oliver book. I personally like this one better. I found out they’re making a movie in 2017 with the girl from Suite Life on Deck and Vampire Academy playing Sam. Haha, I’m Sam too. Ok, so as I was reading, there was this quote that got me thinking. Here it is:

“I know some of you are thinking maybe I deserved it. Maybe I shouldn’t have sent that rose to Juliet or dumped my drink on her at the party. Maybe I shouldn’t have said those things to Kent. There are probably some of you who tink I deserve it because I was ging to let Rob go all the way- because I wasn’t going to save myself.

But before you start pointing fingers, let me ask you: is what I did really so bad? So bad I deserved to die? So bad I deserved to die like that

Is what I  did really so much worse than what anybody else does?

Is it really so much worse than what you do?

Think about it.”

And I did. And I am.

I try to make sure that I don’t have bad Karma. Not that I believe so strongly in karma; I mean, the Bird from Unbroken got away with the terrible, sick, atrocious things he did. But, it makes sense though, doesn’t it? The theory of karma? What goes around comes around.

I used to think the golden rule shouldn’t be what it is. It should be “Treat others the way they treat you.” But that shouldn’t always be the case. Be nice to everyone, and be firm when you have to. I always found it sick when people were mean for fun. I could never fathom what kind of sicko would do that.

Anyway, I’m getting kind of off track. The point is, the golden rule is fine the way it is. Treat people the way you would want to be treated. It’ll keep you out of trouble. Love and respect others, love and respect yourself. 

And I firmly believe in second chances. Also, if you want some advice, you should email me. I don’t judge.

 

 

Leave a Reply

