Delirium (by L. Oliver)’s Definition of Love

Ok, so it’s been a few hours and I think I’ve recovered enough from the ending to write about it. I won’t  (/can’t) talk about the ending. We’ll just talk about the book in general.

Not only does their society view love as a disease, but the way the book was written makes me feel as though Lauren Oliver views it as a sickness as well. The way she talked about it: loss of appetite, being more emotional, etc. Not only did society provide symptoms, but Lena experienced them as well.

Now I haven’t been in love before. I love people: my family and friends, but I have yet to be in love with someone. Crushes are different. From my experience, when I’m crushing on someone, my heart sort of stops (I swear) / drops/ does something different when I see them, sort of like the drop of a roller coaster. But that’s just a crush.

In Lauren Oliver’s book Delirium, Lena experiences something more like a sickness. And I hate to admit it, but I couldn’t help but be conflicted: maybe the cure would be what’s best for her?

Now I don’t know if that was Oliver’s intention, or if she was just a mediocre writer and didn’t realize what she was implying. Or maybe it was just me.

But does love really feel like a sickness? Do you actually lose your sense of independence, your drive do something in life if it doesn’t involve that person? Oliver made love sound like sugar: sweet to the taste, but actually rotting your teeth and giving you quick energy, only to be gone the next second.

I think everyone interprets love differently. I mean, Oliver’s obviously much older than me, so she probably knows what she’s talking about. Or not. (Don’t ever assume all adults know what they’re talking about).

Ok, ciao. And leave comments about what your definition of love is!

Leave a Reply

